Tag: Homestuck
how about we start asking the real questions, like:
do limebloods have troll powers and if so, could karkat develop them
still cant believe The dril is writing this fucking thing, like hes an actual living person
You’ve mentioned here and there that the common idea of Active Knight/Passive Page do a disservice to the characters or that it doesn’t give them the depth they should have (I think thats what you were trying to get at i’m bad with words). Could you elaborate on that a little bit? (not the justification for Active Page/Passive Knight, but rather the pitfalls of Active Knight/Passive Page that fandom falls into in terms of characterization). Sorry if this doesn’t make much sense.
Basically the Active Knight reading ignores the fact that, like Rose, Dave and Karkat START OFF trying to be intensely Active but gradually mellow out and grow happier as they adopt more passive/reactive roles and become more honest about their desire for attention and validation from others (for Rose, mainly Kanaya and Roxy. For Dave and Karkat, mainly each other, tho Dave also struggles with a desire for reconciliation/catharsis with Bro/Dirk on the side).
More importantly, it misses all the ways they allow/invite their Aspect (Karkat dropping Sollux down the stairs drawing Sollux’s Blood and leading to Sollux being happier is a clear example.) and pigeonholes our understanding of their behavior as being exclusively Exploitation focused because of that one quote of Aradia’s, despite the fact that every single Class both exploits and allows their Aspect–Calliope’s definition describes a tendency, not a limitation of their powersets.
It also ignores how Knights’ greatest impacts tends to be how their efforts benefit and empower others. Karkat allows the troll session to function at all by keeping everyone bound to a common cause and leading them to victory instead of self-destruction through petty rivalries. Dave empowers Rose, Jade and John to do literally any of what they do in their session at all by making Grist cost a complete non-issue, allowing them to make whatever kinds of powerful weapons they want. Davesprite literally buffs John by giving him a hammer with Time powers!!! The Active reading of Knights misses all of that stuff.
As for Passive Pages, I wouldn’t know where to start. Every shitty reading of Jake as a kind, patient soul cruelly Put Upon by his predatory gay friend.
Every dumbass take that Tavros is boring because he’s just a lame pushover, instead of an abused kid who resists and fights his abuser’s pressuring influence every step of the way, and who usually knows pretty well who to ask for help to stop her!
All of them are grounded in this idea of the Page as a Passive wallflower nobody with zero impact on Homestucks’ plot to speak of, except of course for how they are mistreated by others.
The powerset of a Page in development, if you listen to the Passive reading, seems to veer between ??? and “Nothing much”, since they’re regarded as p much a burden who must be carried through the game by everyone else until the day they finally reach their True Power, which is presumably buffing everyone else until the whole team is super saiyans.
This is a day that never comes in canon, for any Page. Instead, we get Jake feeling sexually threatened and objectified and summoning a mental version of his boyfriend spouting quotes from a romantic comedy-adventure movie (which is way more Jake’s bag than Dirk’s).
Not to mention BGD talks about Jake as his boyfriend while Dirk himself broke up with Jake and is simultaneously flying around in literal nowhere with no idea what’s going on.
The Brain Ghost Dirk episode is about Jake benefiting HIMSELF with his Hope. Think about his level of power and the context surrounding it.
Aranea wanted to use Jake’s Hope power to benefit herself, and he immediately summoned a warrior for the sole purpose of turning said power against her.
His power is definitely not for her benefit.
It’s not for the benefit of anyone else in the session, either, because Jake doesn’t do jack shit about the Condesce as a threat despite having more than enough power to. Jake isn’t thinking about the good of the session or fixing everything so everyone is safe and conflict is resolved, all of which is stuff he could accomplish with a power level exceeding Jade’s.
Jake is only thinking about himself and wanting to feel safe, and Dirk is how he gets there. The fact that the fandom has missed that rests on the assumption of the Passive Page.
Ditto Tavros’ big moment–rallying the Ghost Army–being cast as a shitty moment where he character develops by getting to help his abuser instead of being a cathartic beat where he gets to own her as revenge because that’s all he wants–to prove her wrong definitively and get on with his life. Or ghost-life, or whatever. Homestuck is dumb, I love it.
I could make similar complaints about Karkat and how everyone thinks he got shafted because he never Got Tough and started fucking shit up with Blood-lasers or whatever. Karkat uses Blood constantly, all the time, and he’s extremely successful and effective at leveraging it. He just does most of it indirectly.
I have a lot of thoughts about this, as you can tell. All this said, it’s possible I’m just straight up wrong about what it means to be Active/Passive and canon will clarify once the Class test happens. Until then though, I’m gonna work with what I have, and it seems to me Homestuck as a work reads much better with one interpretation over the other.
Just curious, are your views on the aspects somewhat different now or are they relatively the same?
Mostly the same, but I’d say I have a cleaner language in my mind when thinking about Rage, Hope and Light in particular. There’s always been a bizzare sort of conceptual overlap in my head surrounding those three, and the descriptions really helped clear it up for me. I’d also say I have a somewhat more nuanced view, since interestingly, the descriptions suggest the Aspects themselves have Active/Passive tendencies! I’d previously thought Active and Passive applied only to Classes and dreaming moons, but apparently not.
Oh also I’m feeling smug as fuck that after getting so much blowback from self-professed Homestuck “experts” that Jake English isn’t selfish vis a vis his Page status (I’m not talking about Vikomprenas, he’s cool and a fun guy to talk to about this stuff) the descriptions went and implied HOPE could well be inherently selfish, making Jake be coded as selfish no matter what you believe about Class designation :). Maybe now the fandom can access him as something other than a selfless, put-upon, pitiful woobie?? Hahahahahaha
I know I sound kinda biting there but honestly it’s all in fun for me, I’m just glad the information we’ve gotten is so compelling and interesting. Seriously though @ fandom at large? Dirkjake is canon and it’s probably time to reassess our views on the Alphas as a group. Secret tip: They all love each other and fuck up and they fucking rock and are the best part of Homestuck.
This wasn’t about the Alphas so sorry anon but with me every road leads to the alphas.
Holy shit thanks for that link to wakraya’s true sign theory, I’m looking at the titles and noticed they make sense both directions. Time across multiple star signs gives titles like excavator, advancer, rebel, dissenter; and then rust class across aspects gives wanderer, lost, trailblazer, wayward, runaway. Similar across all the others. There definitely looks like a relationship! I just posted a link on my blog if you want to look for yourself.
Interesting as hell, nice 😀 I will definitely take a look though I’m pretty busy rn, but I’m really excited to hear this! Feel free to update me if you come across anything particularly interesting, too.
What’s your thought on everyone saying that Karkat has lime blood? The Extended Zodiac categorized him in the lime blood category, but it stated that True Cancer is special and transcends the sign class. It was even shown in the comic that Karkat has candy-red blood. That should imply that only the TRUE Cancer has red blood, as opposed to lime. Right?
1) Yes, only the True Cancer has Red blood. I mean. It’s the sign of the Signless. Only the Signless and Karkat have red blood, and only they are linked to the sign of…the Signless.
As far as people saying Karkat has limeblood, I basically think it’s funny as fuck. Karkat has candy red blood, guys. We’ve literally seen it in the story.
But that doesn’t mean the association isn’t important. Recently, understanding Jake as symbolically connected to Abraxas had started to make me see some interesting things in his relationship to the Cherubs. I believe @betweengenesisfrogs is working on a post about what I’m talking about, so maybe tune in to her if you’re curious.
But to make a long story short, it’s long been speculated that Karkat’s denizen, like Jake’s, was Abraxas. This because Abraxas was understood as the “weakest” Denizen to counteract Yaldabaoth’s “strongest”. This is a reductive take that misses the point, but the connection itself is valid. Basically, I believe that due to Jake’s nature as a representative of Abraxas, he has a very interesting impact on and relationship with both Calliope and Caliborn.
Since Karkat might have had Abraxas too and was a Blood Player, I had recently begun to give more credence to the common pop theory that Karkat was connected to Limebloods in some way, since it would connect him to both Calliope and Caliborn’s Blood.
Suffice it to say, this upd8 (and that is what this is, make no mistake) has confirmed that completely. And that implies some very interesting things about Karkat’s relationship to the Cherubs, and to the mysterious possible First Guardian on Alternia, who is an Axolotl and apparently associated with Limebloods. Check out that link on Jake if you want an idea what I mean. Basically, I think Karkat has grounds to lay claim to the Limeblood’s legacy, and to be considered a “Lord of Amphibians”, in some respect. I’m awful curious to know more about that First Guardian all of a sudden.
ask-heart-stopper replied to your post “Possible Hiveswap spoilers, so only read this after you’ve finished…”
Dammek also still very much cares about Xefros. He likes his smile. He made him lead singer in the band. He shared half the pizza with him. He’s over protective and demanding. He’ll learn and be better. But that doesn’t mean he doesn’t still care about Xefros
One thing I’m surprised we haven’t been talking about is the fact that the description of Blood players, Bronzebloods, and Prospit dreamers pretty much confirms this. All canon indications currently point to Dammek being oblivious and thoughtless, not malicious or cruel.
He likely doesn’t know anything is wrong. Which makes sense because he’s…y’all might be shocked to hear this…a kid. People should really chill out about Dammek imo, lmao.
ask-heart-stopper replied to your post
“Possible Hiveswap spoilers, so only read this after you’ve finished…”
Also Joey is bisexual please no bi erasure
Eh. Dave, Roxy, Jane, Jake, Karkat, and Terezi read strongly bisexual (to varying degrees, at this point in the canon. Lookin’ at u, Jane.), and I’m happy to defend them as such, so I don’t particularly enjoy making this a “Bi Erasure” thing.
But I straight up think there’s a lot more canon evidence of Joey being attracted exclusively to women than for her being bisexual, given her dude crush password was apparently a reference to common young lesbian practices in the 90′s. So I think stating that Joey is bisexual as some sort of hard fact is misleading at best.
This is an evolving subject, though. I begrudge no one their headcanons, and I’m sure we’ll find out in later Acts.
Regarding the Extended Zodiac
I feel compelled to make a post in light of the release of the extended zodiac, and with it canon aspect information. I’ll keep it brief.
I will be quite honest and admit that I find the aspect descriptions underwhelming, shallow, and disappointing. They feel half-assed and lack depth. If that’s all we’re getting, I think I would have preferred they weren’t released. The several classpectors I’ve spoken to so far about this feel the same.
so, with that in mind,
I’m not going to revoke or revise any of the theories I have shared to account for this new “canon” intel. Because the shitty quiz personality given to each aspect doesn’t hold a candle to the more extensive, more thorough, more creative, more interesting ideas that we theorists have been creating, sharing, and discussing for years. If we were to sweep all those theories off the table to replace them with a dozen brief paragraphs just because those paragraphs came from Hussie himself, it would be an injustice to all the effort and time invested in those ideas by the amazingly brilliant and dedicated theorists in this community.
I suppose it is kind of interesting to get some confirmation that we had the right idea, in most cases. But some of those aspect descriptions were just…not well done? Many Heroes of Rage are understandably upset over what they were given. I’ve spoken to Heroes of Heart that were confused by what they were told.
Almost everyone I’ve talked to got the wrong aspect from that quiz, including myself. (Time?? Really???)
I’m not altogether that surprised by that latter statement. I will always stand by the opinion that quizzes are an unreliable method of determining any part of your classpect (or personality), so to get our first canon classpect information within a shitty personality quiz is twice as bad.
or that’s how I feel, anyway. I will continue to run this archive as I did before, with hardly any acknowledgement of the new canon shit. maybe I’ll draft or share some posts analysing these new ideas, but that will have to wait for a week or two until my classes are over for the semester.
what about you? do you agree/disagree? feel free to share your thoughts as well, I’d be interested to hear from more of the classpecting community.
-AC
I think there’s two issues in the extended zodiac quiz. One is the simple MC format that inherently prioritizes ease of use over accuracy. Frankly, this quiz’s main purpose is to advertise the video game and sell merch (as we approach the holiday season, ofc), and so it has to be generally accessible outside of the classpect community. And heck, the classpect community already has all the in-depth title finding stuff anyway, how do you compete against detailed theories of thousands and millions of words that have built up over several /years?/ Go there if you’re into that. If you already know your title, keep it. If you’re a casual fan, or a fan who’s taken every classpect quiz they can get their hands on and read every description they can find and still can’t decide their own title, this is pretty cool. Yeah there’s a lot of negativity, but outside of classpect there really are some posts cheering that they’ve finally figured out their real aspect, marveling (or complaining) that the test somehow managed to describe them perfectly, making new fantrolls with the new signs, and/or getting more excited about Homestuck than they have in years. Anyway, if every true scotsman knows that online quizzes are inherently bs and the only way to determine a classpect is to truly know yourself and decide for yourself in real life, then I don’t know how anyone expected more from this one. I’m not saying this makes the quiz good, or that its purpose is good, but it’s good enough for its purpose.
I think the real issue here is the newly “canon” aspect descriptions. Just like the quiz itself, they’re simplified waaay down from what we’ve been able to expect from the classpect community over the last few years. And I really do agree with @revolutionaryduelist that these aspect definitions are simplified for accessibility and are NOT comprehensive definitions. Light’s the big tipoff. Hussie himself has said in a formspring response that Light in a mythological title “translates” to Fortune, and that’s what we see and are told all through the comic in Vriska’s case. I’ve never been a fan of the Light-as-Knowledge theory, and I’ll admit that straight up. But that’s definitely the clearest case of the Light aspect in Sburb not lining up with the “aspect-bound” descriptions of the quiz.
I identify with the Mind aspect, but the quiz gave me Life. And when I looked at the quiz’s aspect definitions, Life was definitely the one that fit me best. I don’t think it gave me the “wrong” aspect – it actually made me realize that Mind’s “seek and implement the best option” is very similar to Life’s “create positive change (the change that /I/ think is positive).” I’m still thinking out how I want to address that, but I find it all very interesting.
Also I thought what it said about Doom and suffering was REALLY interesting for the Mage class. Sollux really does two things during the story: he breaks rules, and he gets killed by them. A lot of fan theories said that the Mage suffers their aspect. But if Sollux’s suffering can be attributed to his aspect, then maybe the Mage class is actually something else? (Then this starts meandering into an incomplete pet theory about Mages and Witches as +/- rule breakers, but I’ll spare you that particular monologue.)
Ultimately, I don’t actually think the quiz is /wrong/ in anything it says in its results (I’ve always considered my goal in classpect to be figuring out what Hussie intended, rather than finding a philosophically complete system – I guess I swing pretty Void in that way), and I also don’t think it’s complete either. There’s plenty of space to add additional parts and details about the aspects and how they affect a person.
(Unless something in the definitions is mutually exclusive with something in your own theory. I got my theory directly contradicted from “Light players seek Success at All Costs” to “Light players seek Knowledge at All Costs” and that kind of just comes with the territory when you’re theorycrafting in someone else’s work. Anyone who can’t deal with that on an emotional level probably shouldn’t be theorycrafting in the first place.)
Yeah I don’t believe these are meant to tell us DEFINITIVELY what each aspect is at all. It’s just a personality test that gives us some new nuggets of clear info and presents an entry-level guide to the subject for newbies. Hiveswap has a clearly more in-depth treatment of the Light aspect and Classpects in general imo.
I feel like the extended zodiac answered a lot of great questions we had about, say, Karkat’s blood and what determines your moon, but I agree, the aspect descriptions were really disappointing. TIME?! What was that?! My biggest problem was that it didn’t ever mention what the aspects stood for, which is, ya know, the whole point of having aspects. This is overall a really nice piece of canon, but that really let me down.
I mean just to be clear about my personal opinion, I think this section is great. But that’s because I think it’s real innovation is probably the Troll Caste system and the implications unearthed by Wakraya in its language.
Xefros’ behavior as a Page of Rage and roleplay as a Knight, and his simultaneous interest in Time as an aspect, makes me feel like the depth of the system is more than intact. It’s better than ever, in a lot of ways.
The Aspect descriptions are sparse. That’s fine, because they’re providing mostly new information, since they’re about the personalities of the Bound, not anything about the nature of the Aspect.
Hell, we got the -Bound terminology, which recontextualizes everything about how we think about Aspects. It frames Aspect powers, explicitly, as based on Earthbound’s mythology, and Earthbound is all about kids slowly developing psychic powers, with narratives generally about reaching Enlightenment in some way. So psychic powers as a concept have been officially linked to Aspects.
I was surprised and pleased to find Dahni saw merit in the idea, so I guess you guys might find merit in it? Either way, everyone’s entitled to feel however they feel. I just didn’t feel great realizing I might be sounding critical of WP, since it’s not how I feel. I couldn’t be more excited, actually.
Regarding the Extended Zodiac
I feel compelled to make a post in light of the release of the extended zodiac, and with it canon aspect information. I’ll keep it brief.
I will be quite honest and admit that I find the aspect descriptions underwhelming, shallow, and disappointing. They feel half-assed and lack depth. If that’s all we’re getting, I think I would have preferred they weren’t released. The several classpectors I’ve spoken to so far about this feel the same.
so, with that in mind,
I’m not going to revoke or revise any of the theories I have shared to account for this new “canon” intel. Because the shitty quiz personality given to each aspect doesn’t hold a candle to the more extensive, more thorough, more creative, more interesting ideas that we theorists have been creating, sharing, and discussing for years. If we were to sweep all those theories off the table to replace them with a dozen brief paragraphs just because those paragraphs came from Hussie himself, it would be an injustice to all the effort and time invested in those ideas by the amazingly brilliant and dedicated theorists in this community.
I suppose it is kind of interesting to get some confirmation that we had the right idea, in most cases. But some of those aspect descriptions were just…not well done? Many Heroes of Rage are understandably upset over what they were given. I’ve spoken to Heroes of Heart that were confused by what they were told.
Almost everyone I’ve talked to got the wrong aspect from that quiz, including myself. (Time?? Really???)
I’m not altogether that surprised by that latter statement. I will always stand by the opinion that quizzes are an unreliable method of determining any part of your classpect (or personality), so to get our first canon classpect information within a shitty personality quiz is twice as bad.
or that’s how I feel, anyway. I will continue to run this archive as I did before, with hardly any acknowledgement of the new canon shit. maybe I’ll draft or share some posts analysing these new ideas, but that will have to wait for a week or two until my classes are over for the semester.
what about you? do you agree/disagree? feel free to share your thoughts as well, I’d be interested to hear from more of the classpecting community.
-AC
I think there’s two issues in the extended zodiac quiz. One is the simple MC format that inherently prioritizes ease of use over accuracy. Frankly, this quiz’s main purpose is to advertise the video game and sell merch (as we approach the holiday season, ofc), and so it has to be generally accessible outside of the classpect community. And heck, the classpect community already has all the in-depth title finding stuff anyway, how do you compete against detailed theories of thousands and millions of words that have built up over several /years?/ Go there if you’re into that. If you already know your title, keep it. If you’re a casual fan, or a fan who’s taken every classpect quiz they can get their hands on and read every description they can find and still can’t decide their own title, this is pretty cool. Yeah there’s a lot of negativity, but outside of classpect there really are some posts cheering that they’ve finally figured out their real aspect, marveling (or complaining) that the test somehow managed to describe them perfectly, making new fantrolls with the new signs, and/or getting more excited about Homestuck than they have in years. Anyway, if every true scotsman knows that online quizzes are inherently bs and the only way to determine a classpect is to truly know yourself and decide for yourself in real life, then I don’t know how anyone expected more from this one. I’m not saying this makes the quiz good, or that its purpose is good, but it’s good enough for its purpose.
I think the real issue here is the newly “canon” aspect descriptions. Just like the quiz itself, they’re simplified waaay down from what we’ve been able to expect from the classpect community over the last few years. And I really do agree with @revolutionaryduelist that these aspect definitions are simplified for accessibility and are NOT comprehensive definitions. Light’s the big tipoff. Hussie himself has said in a formspring response that Light in a mythological title “translates” to Fortune, and that’s what we see and are told all through the comic in Vriska’s case. I’ve never been a fan of the Light-as-Knowledge theory, and I’ll admit that straight up. But that’s definitely the clearest case of the Light aspect in Sburb not lining up with the “aspect-bound” descriptions of the quiz.
I identify with the Mind aspect, but the quiz gave me Life. And when I looked at the quiz’s aspect definitions, Life was definitely the one that fit me best. I don’t think it gave me the “wrong” aspect – it actually made me realize that Mind’s “seek and implement the best option” is very similar to Life’s “create positive change (the change that /I/ think is positive).” I’m still thinking out how I want to address that, but I find it all very interesting.
Also I thought what it said about Doom and suffering was REALLY interesting for the Mage class. Sollux really does two things during the story: he breaks rules, and he gets killed by them. A lot of fan theories said that the Mage suffers their aspect. But if Sollux’s suffering can be attributed to his aspect, then maybe the Mage class is actually something else? (Then this starts meandering into an incomplete pet theory about Mages and Witches as +/- rule breakers, but I’ll spare you that particular monologue.)
Ultimately, I don’t actually think the quiz is /wrong/ in anything it says in its results (I’ve always considered my goal in classpect to be figuring out what Hussie intended, rather than finding a philosophically complete system – I guess I swing pretty Void in that way), and I also don’t think it’s complete either. There’s plenty of space to add additional parts and details about the aspects and how they affect a person.
(Unless something in the definitions is mutually exclusive with something in your own theory. I got my theory directly contradicted from “Light players seek Success at All Costs” to “Light players seek Knowledge at All Costs” and that kind of just comes with the territory when you’re theorycrafting in someone else’s work. Anyone who can’t deal with that on an emotional level probably shouldn’t be theorycrafting in the first place.)
Yeah I don’t believe these are meant to tell us DEFINITIVELY what each aspect is at all. It’s just a personality test that gives us some new nuggets of clear info and presents an entry-level guide to the subject for newbies. Hiveswap has a clearly more in-depth treatment of the Light aspect and Classpects in general imo.




